Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees are a group of up to 14 individuals who govern the running of the charity. They are unpaid volunteers who take on important responsibilities. Their role is to collectively make decisions that guide and protect the charity so that it continues to achieve its aims. They are the guardians of EWB-UK, its mission and its future.

The board currently consists of 6 elected and 7 appointed trustees.

The appointed trustees have been chosen by the board and are selected on for their understanding of industry, academia, the voluntary or international development sectors, or others with specialist experience. They are selected by the board and their appointment is approved by the membership at the Annual General Meeting. The elected trustees are nominated and then elected by the membership in a vote.

The role of the Board of Trustees covers:

  • Strategy: Ensure the organisation has a clear, shared vision, mission and aims and that it has effective ways to achieve these.
  • Governance: Ensure that the organisation remains active and effective in achieving its aims, including oversight of financial status.
  • Legal compliance: Meet all the requirements of its Memorandum and Articles of Association (which define its legal license to exist) and the legal and financial requirements of a UK charity, for example employment law.
  • Risk: Monitor and act to mitigate risks that could effect the charity, its activities and its members so that it can remain active and effective.

In addition to these overall roles, the EWB-UK Board of Trustees are often involved with executive level discussions and decisions.

The current trustees are:

  • Peter Hansford (chair)
  • Matthew Rees (treasurer)
  • Sacha Grodzinski (secretary)
  • Priti Parikh
  • Liz Miles
  • Nick Tyler
  • Rachel Haynes
  • Conor McGlacken
  • Alex Buckman
  • Sarah Bowden
  • Martin McCann
  • Richa Bhuttar
  • Tom Newby